No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Assistance with AVG Internet Security SBS and AVG Anti-Malware SBS

Moderator: Moderators

No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby hughesrjl » Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:48 am

Sorry for flooding the forum, but seems as though my other two problems might be something a little more serious.

My last synchronization was 7 days ago, on the 19th November. So my program and virus definitions are out of date quite seriously.

Can't seem to get the stations to talk back to the admin console as well. I have recently patched the server...

The firewall on both the station and the server are deactivated.
hughesrjl
AVG Know-A-Lot
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:14 am

Advertisement

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby sc123 » Fri Nov 27, 2009 11:34 am

Try restarting the server and check back in a few hours.
Regards,
SC123 - Founder, http://www.AVGForums.com
-------------------------------------------------------
Complete uninstall/reinstall method | Other tools to try | Search the forums!
User avatar
sc123
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 2095
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:50 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby hughesrjl » Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:33 am

Hi thanks for that.

Restarted the server first thing this morning, been around for 4 hours but still no contact between the server and clients.

Anything else to try? Have any of ports changed?
hughesrjl
AVG Know-A-Lot
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:14 am

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby sc123 » Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:03 am

No, the ports are the same. That's a hard problem to troubleshoot. I'd contact AVG and they will ask for various logs and config files, which will shed some light on the issue. If it's all of the machines unable to communicate with the server, then the issue is on the server or network equipment. Could be a DNS issue.
Regards,
SC123 - Founder, http://www.AVGForums.com
-------------------------------------------------------
Complete uninstall/reinstall method | Other tools to try | Search the forums!
User avatar
sc123
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 2095
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:50 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby hughesrjl » Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:13 am

DNS issue... that's an interesting suggestion.

I have changed some DNS entries with regards to the server... What changes might stuff it?
hughesrjl
AVG Know-A-Lot
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:14 am

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby sc123 » Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:26 am

If your workstations are set to contact AVGADMINSERVER (that's the name of the server box) but they cannot ping it at it's current IP, then they won't be able to communicate.

Ping the server name from a workstation and see if you get the correct internal IP and if the pings go through.
Regards,
SC123 - Founder, http://www.AVGForums.com
-------------------------------------------------------
Complete uninstall/reinstall method | Other tools to try | Search the forums!
User avatar
sc123
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 2095
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:50 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby hughesrjl » Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:30 am

Well - I can ping the DNS name AVGSERVER, nslookup is the correct address and I can PUSH the installation onto the client, but it can't poll back to the server after installation.

This is really infuriating... I'm a missing a shared setting in the new console?

The local server settings are the IP address of the machine. I've updated the shared settings for the clients to do it via IP address rather than DNS name resolution...
hughesrjl
AVG Know-A-Lot
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:14 am

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby hughesrjl » Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:33 am

OK - another bit of information, I can't connect to the AVG Admin Console using the server's DNS name... which is a bit weird...
hughesrjl
AVG Know-A-Lot
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:14 am

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby hughesrjl » Tue Dec 01, 2009 5:30 am

So - I've managed to push out the AVG 9 to a client station.

But it still won't connect back to the Admin console.

I've checked the connection string that's in the advanced settings for the server, so I can connect to, from the client:

http://avgadminconsole:4158 and then I enter the admin credentials, and I get the server page.

However, then clicking TEST Connection in the settings, I'm just getting the: Connection Test Finished: Connection Not Available.
hughesrjl
AVG Know-A-Lot
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:14 am

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby sc123 » Tue Dec 01, 2009 3:01 pm

Try using the IP address of the server from one of the workstations and run that test. That will eliminate DNS as the issue.
Regards,
SC123 - Founder, http://www.AVGForums.com
-------------------------------------------------------
Complete uninstall/reinstall method | Other tools to try | Search the forums!
User avatar
sc123
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 2095
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:50 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby hughesrjl » Wed Dec 02, 2009 4:59 am

So it works via IP address as well.

This is really, really strange. The AVUPDATE after the http://avgadminconsole:4158/avupdate doesn't exist though... says file not found on the webpage...

Any other suggestions? Thanks for your help btw. Perhaps I should open a proper support case with AVG? Though I can't imagine their response will be as fast as yours!
hughesrjl
AVG Know-A-Lot
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:14 am

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby sc123 » Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:20 am

Did you try http://xx.xx.xx.xx:4158 on a workstation?
Regards,
SC123 - Founder, http://www.AVGForums.com
-------------------------------------------------------
Complete uninstall/reinstall method | Other tools to try | Search the forums!
User avatar
sc123
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 2095
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:50 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby hughesrjl » Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:29 am

Sorry - yes, I tried that and it worked fine, contacted the server without issue.
hughesrjl
AVG Know-A-Lot
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:14 am

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby sc123 » Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:45 am

It's a DNS issue then. Workstations on a Windows domain network need to use the Windows PDC IP address as their primary DNS, and the DNS server needs to be setup on the PDC to forward to your internal/external DNS.
Regards,
SC123 - Founder, http://www.AVGForums.com
-------------------------------------------------------
Complete uninstall/reinstall method | Other tools to try | Search the forums!
User avatar
sc123
Forum Administrator
 
Posts: 2095
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:50 pm
Location: Virginia, USA

Re: No contact between stations and AVG Admin Console

Postby hughesrjl » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:54 am

That's fair enough, and I take your point. But that's exactly what I have set up. I have no other DNS issues on my network.

I don't see what's changed!
hughesrjl
AVG Know-A-Lot
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:14 am

Next

Return to AVG Small Business Server (SBS) Products

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron